Welcome to the The Art of the Pivot Newsletter 🗞️

Sharing musings, tips & tricks on building a business and creating a life you love — on your own terms.

Who am I?

Hi there! My name is Taylor Cromwell (hence the name, Cromwell Creative.) I got my chops working as a Very Serious Journalist™️ in New York City. After several years in the grueling corporate world, I decided to jump head first into entrepreneurial life. (Read: I got let go and was forced to find a way to replace my income.)

I’ve spent the past year learning the ins and outs of building a sustainable freelance business, up-leveling my skills, and dreaming about the possibilities of what this business could turn into.

But for now, I’m sitting comfortably in London (yes I’m working and traveling as a nomad… more to come) and will be able to say I made six-figures during my first full year freelancing. I’m not here to sell you on any get-rich quick schemes. Simply, I want to share more about my experience, what I’ve learned along the way and try to help others who may want to achieve the same.

Because I know for sure, I never knew any of this was possible. Had I not been forced into freelance life, I’m not sure I would have ever chosen this path for myself. I would spend the early days (and late nights) as I was building this business and ruthlessly gobble up wisdom via podcasts, YouTube videos, books, anything I could get my hands on that could help me find a blueprint for making this work. And I’m here to tell you: it’s real and it’s possible to build a life that you love and make work fit around it.

What is Cromwell Creative Co.?

Cromwell Creative Co. is the business that I’m housing my freelance services under. Over the past year, I’ve worked with a range of clients, from executive leaders and startup founders to business schools and leading-edge tech companies. Though I’m working primarily in the business world, I wanted to keep creative in the name because it is key to the storytelling work that I do.

Yes, being a “creative” and working in business don’t have to exist exclusively. As I build out my client base, I’d also love to incorporate more educational content about the type of work that I do for my audience.

Thus, this newsletter was born.

What will this newsletter cover?

Think of this newsletter of a compilation of things that interest me, things that I’m learning, and things I wished I would have known 1, 2 or 3 years ago as I was getting started in my career. I love learning from other people who have achieved what I’m hoping to do, so I will feature a series of expert Q&A’s with freelance/entrepreneurs and thought leaders.

I will also share tips, tricks and guides along the way. (Read: expect many more podcast, article and book recommendations along the way.) Some particular themes that interest me are careers, ambition, entrepreneurship, slo-mad living — and so much more.

I’m thrilled that you’re joining me on this journey! Please feel free to share this with anyone who might find this content useful.